It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

In the past, everybody bought all types of goods at local commerce. Nowadays, many facilities arrived due to technology giving more options for shopping. And because of this, local shops are losing their clients. This essay will argue the possibility of how local communities have been affected and the possible solution to this. Firstly, e-commerce and chain stores stand out as significant consumer preferences due to the low prices or the discount to buy bulk-by goods. And because of this, small local shops have difficulty competing and, consequently, the profit margin decreases, making it difficult to maintain the place. For instance, after the great supermarket and utility shops arrived in Angra dos Reis city in Rio de Janeiro, 20% of small local shops closed. Therefore, e-commerce and chain stores are unquestionably changing how sales are made, and many local shops have been affected. Indeed, technology modifies the behavior of consumers in general. However, with the local government incentives and investment in personalized customer service by local entrepreneurs, the situation mentioned above could be transformed. For example, there is a building shop in Angra dos Reis city where the excellent treatment of their clients is crucial, and many clients prefer to go there than the other place. Hence, if tradespeople invest in their clients and obtain government incentives, this business's feasibility will be high. In summary, the competition between online shops, big chain stores, and local shops is enormous, and there is a considerable advantage in prices and quantity to the two first places, but if local entrepreneurs receive the government's facilities and improve the personalized treatment their business could not be affected too much.