Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people have strong opinions about whether living in a foreign country and speaking a foreign language could result in some problems. Personally, I completely agree with the idea that it is likely to encounter some serious trouble when you can not speak the native language, and I am going to consider below two arguments to support my position. In my opinion, the main reason is that people are not familiar with the language, culture and customs when they migrate to a new place where people speak other languages. This means it is highly possible that they may not communicate naturally and fluently with their classmates, colleagues and neighbours as they have different languages, backgrounds and experiences. In addition, using improper and impolite words could make others puzzled and misunderstand when they talk to others, which negatively impacts socialization and making friends. For instance, when their friends are sharing views about history and politics, it is quite hard for someone without that field’s knowledge and vocabulary to get involved. In turn, they are more likely to be isolated, which is not beneficial for their mentalities and mindsets. The second reason is that they are unknown policies or official processes, which also could result in some difficult problems. Dealing with daily issues is a vital part of people ’s daily life, and living abroad make this more difficult, which in turn could cause some serious practical troubles. For example, if they are not clear about the process to apply for a visa or society insurance, it is likely to be rejected or complicate the process, which could involve some extra trouble in their daily life. Consequently, I fundamentally agree that some people could encounter some unexpectedly serious problems when they migrate to a country where they are unfamiliar with the language. However, despite the fact that it is challenging, moving to another country could be a fantastic experience for them.