In the developed world, average life expentancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals ann society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Driven by technological and medical advances by bounds and leaps, people live longer than before in many countries, especially in developed economies, which is not only a boon for individuals and society but causes a multitude of troubles. In this essay, it will analyze the problems generated by the phenomenon and propose some feasible solutions. Major concerns of longer life expectancy are mainly contributed to three parts. To begin with, it gives rise to more painful diseases, such as cancer, cardiovascular illnesses, etc., because many of them are diagnosed with the elderly, which places a heavy financial burden and serious suffering on individuals. Furthermore, with the increasing number of ageing populations, communities and governments suffer from a shortage of labour. For example, Japan has stepped into a grey society, which forced the authority to elevate the retirement age in a bid to maintain sufficient working populations. Lastly, government has to face more financial expenditures and less tax revenues. On the one hand, it needs to spend a great amount of money on public services catering for senior citizens; on the other hand, a decrease in the workforce makes it difficult to gain income. Both individuals and society should go hand in hand to address the repercussions of ageing populations. Citizens should put a high emphasis on physical exercise and illness prevention. In this way, older people can be immune to many lethal illnesses, thus avoiding unnecessary medical costs and suffering. Governments, which should be the main contributor to mitigate the impact, need to invest more funds and effort in the-state-of-art technologies, thereby reducing the dependence on the manual labour force. For instance, AI makes it possible for us to replace human workers in factories with robots, manufacturing products in an effective and cost-efficient manner. In conclusion, although it has no silver bullet solutions to address the problems discussed above, we should take action collaboratively to ameliorate the negative impacts.