The users of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the advanced technology in this modern society, an increasing number of people use social media platforms to communicate rather than speak in person. However, in my opinion, I assume that the benefits of the trend outnumber the drawbacks. It is true that there are some pros of speaking in front of others that cannot be replaced by using the Internet. First of all, face-to-face communication would not be misunderstood easily. It is normal that people to express their thoughts accompanied by not only their facial expressions, and gestures, but also a variety of tones with emotion. Thus, people can understand their feelings with vivid eye contact. Nevertheless, the words in a message, which can only put “emoji’’ to show their feelings, often lead to a serious problem of understanding. According to the latest statics in 2022 from Taiwan, there were up to 80% of couples had conflicts on the Internet as they had a misunderstanding on messages. Secondly, face-to-face contact can bring an ability to deal with problems at a better speed. In other words, people usually get a quick response from others, thus making people should throw back their thoughts immediately. Nonetheless, numerous youngsters are afraid of talking in person and choose to communicate on the Internet. What’s worse, without practising, it could lose the ability to work with others well. In this case, they may feel they are not part of the society, and then lose social cohesion. In conclusion, as face-to-face communication is advantageous for easy understanding and a better ability to respond to others, it seems that the possible benefits are more significant than the potential dangers of contracting on the Internet.