Only formal examinations, written or practical, can give a clear picture of students' true knowledge and ability at university level. Continuous assessment like course work and projects are poor measures of student ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that only final examination can prove students ’ real strength about their knowledge and ability at their colleges. In my opinion, I am completely agree with this view. It is admitted that formal examinations’ results are more authoritative and representative. Students ’ knowledge and ability can be proved by this exam. First of all, the formal exams are more strict and standardized. Students are all in the same environment and do the same test paper which means the results are more fair than others. Teachers or supervisors are focus on the discipline. There is less probability and chance for students to cheat on the exams. Besides,  formal exam shows students ’ highest level during a period of time in universities. And It is like a personal labels,most of students pay 100 percentage on it. Therefore,it has reference value to give a picture of students. As for the continuous assessment, it can also illustrates the ability and knowledge of students, but it is not fairness (and objective)enough. Most of time course work and projects are teamwork pattern. Students in a group to finish one case can not evident personal ability. What is more, some students in the group are lazy or avoid doing assessment,even cheat other members and teachers. They paid for professional person to help for the projectors or course work.  It can not be chosen as a method to measure students ability. In conclusion,my view is that the formal examinations can show a student's true ability and achievements, and students should pay more attention to formal examinations to confirm themselves.