In the past, most working people had only one job. However, nowadays, more and more people have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons for this development? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job?

The number of people in the young generation who have both full-time and part-time jobs is increasing nowadays. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and explain the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. The main reason people have several jobs is that they are under more intensive financial pressure compared with citizens in the past. That is because everything that is necessary for a normal person's daily life is becoming more expensive. For example, according to the annual Chinese government report, the increase in real estate prices is much faster than the rise in the average salary in most cities, leading to fewer young people who can afford a house for living. Therefore, they have to work harder than before to pay back house loans by working on a part-time job in their leisure time. In addition, the price of daily necessities is increasing simultaneously every year, which is a major threat to low-income families even though they live in a rented place without dreaming of purchasing their own apartments. And this can cause them to struggle with insufficient money for the medical payment of their parents or the educational cost of their children, thereby, forcing them to do more than one job at the same time to feed families and fulfil parenting responsibilities. For individuals who work two or more jobs, it can be both advantageous and disadvantageous. On the negative side, finishing the tasks of several different jobs can make them physically exhausted and reduce their abilities to concentrate on, process and remember information, thereby, leading to a decrease in productivity and performance, both in personal and professional settings. In some extreme cases, the exhaustion they feel can cause potential risks such as injuries when they fulfil their daily, especially if one of their jobs involves a great amount of physical exercise. However, from a positive perspective, having two simultaneous jobs can benefit people by allowing a more rapid improvement in work experience and relative professional knowledge, which may be beneficial for their future lives or careers. For instance, one of my colleagues worked on a part-time job as a data scientist for a financial institution two years ago and she has learned some knowledge about investment during that period. By practising the things she learned in the bonds market, she has earned a huge amount of money which is enough for the rest of her life. In conclusion, an increasing number of individuals in the contemporary era choose to work on multiple jobs because they are under intensive financial pressures for daily life, and this can be both beneficial by providing them extra opportunities to learn knowledge in other fields and disadvantageous by leading to physical exhaustion which can potentially be risky for health.