Isolation of Coxiella burnetii, Francisella tularensis, Leptospira, and Borrelia species from the blood and ticks of sheep and goats in Sistan.

Zoonoses are communicable diseases transmitted from animals to humans. More than 60% of human infectious diseases are caused by pathogens shared with wild or domestic animals. Emerging zoonoses are a growing threat to global health. Lyme borreliosis (LB) is the most prevalent tick-borne zoonosis in the northern hemisphere including Slovakia. It is caused by spirochetes belonging to the Borrelia burgdorferi (B. b.)sensu lato (s.l.) complex which are transmitted by ticks. B.afzelii and B. garinii are the most common European circulatinggenospecies The routine diagnosis of borreliosis in humans is based on the determination of the levels of specific antibodies using the enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA). If the first step is reactive, immunoblotting is performed to confirm it. IgG antibodies appear in serum 6 weeks after the infection, they reach their peak level after 4 to 6 months and are detectable in serum for many years. Tularaemia (TUL), also known as “rabbit fever”, is a zoonosis caused by a gram-negative bacterium Francisella (F.) tularensis. TUL is typically found in animals, especially rodents, rabbits, and hares, it is usually a rural disease. F. tularensis is divided into four subspecies: tularensis, mediasiatica, holarctica, and novicida. The bacterium can be transmitted by an arthropod bite, ingestion, inhalation, or direct contact with infected tissues. The screening assay ELISA and then the Western blot (WB) have been established in recent years for the identification of tularaemia antibodies. Antibodies appear around 2 to 3 weeks after infection and antibodies may be detected years after the patient’s cure. Leptospirosis (LEP) is a zoonosis found worldwide, the main reservoir of which is the rat. The genus Leptospira includes 20 Leptospira (L.) species and more than 300 serovars. Humans become infected most commonly through occupational, recreational or domestic contact of skin with the urine of infected animals, either directly or via contaminated water or soil (10). The number of severe human cases worldwide is estimated above 500,000. Incidences range from 0.1–1/100,000 per year in temperate climates, 10–100/100,000 per year in the humid tropic climate, to over 100/100,000 per year during outbreaks and in high-exposure risk groups. ELISA and microscopic agglutination are generally used laboratory methods (11). The only proof of asymptomatic infection is specific anti-Leptospira antibodies. Thus, the serological response rate of the examined population to Leptospira antigen may be regarded as an indicator of the prior contact with these bacteria and the degree of exposure. Missing epidemiological data in endemic countries complicate an appropriate risk assessment necessary for the public health authorities. Our objectives were also to conduct a pilot survey on a selected sample of healthy blood donors in Eastern Slovakia to assess the seroprevalence of three selected zoonotic diseases and to identify potential risk factors for blood recipients