In many cities there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernise, old buildings are demolished and replaces with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old building? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the spaces in cities are not enough to be developed, the current architectures need to be reconstructed in order to provide a modern urban area. While destroying an old building will create tons of waste and the history will be eliminated with the buildings, I still think that the warranted benefits outweigh the disadvantages. Two disadvantages of knocking down an ancient building will acquire lots of waste and unintentionally remove the historical memories. The waste of the structure is difficult to discard in a short time, which included wood, steel, and a huge amount of cement, the waste also causes pollution to the environment. In terms of historical memories, certain construction may seem useless but unexpectedly represented an evolution from time to time. In Taiwan, for example, the flats in New Taipei City represented a part of the culture, which were built with cement and bricks, these materials are still hard to deal with even with modern technology. On the other hand, this process provides more suitable functions for humans and creates eco-friendlier architectures for societies. Even though remembering certain eras runs a significant role for individuals, I believe that providing suitable functions and greener buildings are modern society’s priorities. As the environment deteriorate recently, it is crucial to erect eco-friendly architecture. Specifically, more wood structures absorb CO2 and new materials to prevent unconscious population. Additionally, technology has become innovatively in recent years, and associating new techniques with contemporary architects brings positive effects. Even though demolition comes with instantaneous damage to the environment, modernization offers future benefits to society, which is better than taking care of the earth in the future to create better living conditions for the following generations. In conclusion, I believe that providing useful functions and creating environmentally friendly constructions overcome all the disadvantages of destroying an old building. Modernization is essential nowadays but environmental issues are important as well.