Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Testing on animals is an extremely controversial matter since many people argue that it should be banned while others believe it is essential to increase our knowledge in different fields. In this essay I will discuss both point of views and present an alternative. There are a few reasons for thinking that this type of scientific activity should be outlawed. First of all, animals are not different from humans, so they should have the same chance to live their own life like us. Secondly, international statistics say that some companies could bypass the use of animals in their research. On the other hand, these kinds of experimentations allow us to cope with different problems connected with our health. Indeed, scientists can observe animals ’ behaviours and understand what happens during determinate circumstances. Consequently, thanks to discoveries, some diseases could be fought or, at least, it has been possible found a more effective way to combat them. Nowadays, due to develop of technology, others way instead of animals’ tests can be adopted. For example, it should be possible to reproduce some parts of our body with a 3D printer, and then simulate certain situations using artificial intelligence. Last but not least, in some cases it may be feasible to ask for help from volunteers. For instance, it makes sense for specific trials against cancer or rare illnesses. In conclusion, I believe that our society should do every effort to improve our knowledge, in order that we can save more lives. However, to achieve this goal it is better do not use animals if it is avoidable.