Increasing the prices of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people insist that raising the price of petrol is the ultimate solution to traffic and pollution problems. However, I disagree with the idea. It is true that increasing petrol prices has proven useful in encouraging people to drive less, which will in turn cause less traffic and pollution problems. However, this will also strongly affect those who have no transportation options aside from driving cars. For example, even a slight increase in oil prices can be a huge blow for delivery truck drivers.What’s more, there are a lot of side effects from this plan of action such as unstable market prices in petrol-related products. On top of that, it is possible that a rise in gasoline prices fail to ease traffic jams due to the rapid development of electric cars. Therefore, I believe several other methods can be put into use to tackle the problems. Firstly, it is important for the government to upgrade the public transport system. Only when they are cheaper and more convenient than self-driving or calling a taxi can citizens feel satisfied with taking public transportation. As for pollution problems, there is already an excellent measure taking effect: promoting vehicles that run on clean energy or electricity. In fact, this act is worth following through and can be applied to public transportation as well. Last but not least, the government might find methods such as restrictions on the number of license plates distributed daily more efficient in solving traffic issues. In conclusion, there are many ways to deal with traffic and pollution problems but rising gasoline prices is not the best among them.