Unhealthy food has negative effect on both individuals and on the society they live in. Some people think that the government should tax the unhealthy food while others say that fat tax is unfair an unnecessary. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Eating wisely and maintaining a healthy lifestyle, are vital for better living.Many individuals opine that consuming food unwisely would affect not only the quality of life of people but also the nation and thus such foods should be imposed with tax implications, while others believe that this type of penalty by the authorities is unjust and not required. This essay examines both opinions before presenting my perspective. On the one hand, having processed and junk food has nasty effects on a person owing to the fats, preservatives, additives and excessive carbohydrates. These ingredients make the food unhealthy for our bodies. Moreover, unwanted consumerism arising from lack of time encourages the consumption of ready-to-eat meals and packaged foods which yet again pose a great threat to us. A recent study by the World Health Organisation reveals that 20% of the working class tend to rely upon pre-cooked varieties of food or have fast food which are full of preservatives. This in the long run leads to the weakening of the body and consequently gives rise to diseases. On the other hand, levying a higher tax on such foods might help in controlling the poor and middle class but this habit of binge eating will continue with the rich. Additionally, in this democratic era, the government should not intervene in what should be on the plate of its citizens. It can only create awareness and educate its folks on the ill- effects of this type of consumption. In conclusion, the mantra of a healthy mind rests in a healthy body holds true if we refrain from unhealthy food intake and switch to healthier eating patterns. In my view, it is our responsibility to choose what we want to consume and how to balance our nutrients. The government's role should be restricted to holding campaigns and promoting a healthy lifestyle.