At present time the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in some countries, there are more young people than old ones. In my opinion, although it is vital to respect and learn from the old ones, the benefits of this ratio outweigh the drawbacks. It is widely believed that elderlies are valuable to society, and there are several reasons for that. first of all, they are known for their incredible wisdom. Some would say that they have so much to teach us. For example, my grandfather was a knowledgeable man, and he used to tell thought-provoking stories about our ancestors, which I learned a lot from. Another point is that older people are mainly our loved ones, like a member of our family, and we admire them because they have brought us up with dedication. However, there are many disadvantages to having a considerable number of old population in a country. Firstly, taking care of elderlies costs a lot for the government. For instance, old people tend to get sick more often, and the government should spend a significant amount of money on their health services. Secondly, it should be noted that most of them are retired. As a result, they are not able to participate in the economic progress of a nation. By contrast, young people are more likely to work harder, so they are more beneficial to society. Finally, older people tend to have old-fashioned ideas, which might cause a conflict between them and youth, due to the generation gap. To conclude, I restate that older residents are precious to a country, nevertheless, having a large number of them might lead to some economic problems, as well as conflicts with the new generation. Therefore, I suggest that it is best for a country to have a larger number of youth compared to elderlies.