It is suggested that everyone in the world should have a car, a TV and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages for society?

with technological advancement, plenty of equipment is contributing to our lives, for example, locomotives, giant gadgets, fridges, etc. Although a majority of consumers' attitude promotes such possession, I think the negatives of them outweigh the positives. to begin with, tv, fridge, and cars have made our lives easier undoubtedly. For instance, owning personal transport makes it convenient for us to commute to work, using a cooling device ensures the freshness of our food, and electronic devices alleviate the stress of our boring lives. As a result, such products have not only enriched our lives but also boosted our economy as well. on the other hand, since they are extremely popular, their demand is very high as well. consequently, this increases competition among brands and leads to unhealthy consumerism. to illustrate, studies in the US have shown that an individual, on average, spends the equivalent amount of money purchasing irrelevant stuff to a downpayment for a house. As a consequence, many are now facing immense pressure to attain the latest version of luxuries among their other peers. moreover, the manufacture of hybrid rides, such as vehicles, produces co2 in the air, which is a major component responsible for the rise of global warming. likewise, gases in the fridge, if released into the environment too much can escalate the percentage of cloro-floro-carbon molecules in the atmosphere. in conclusion, despite the advantages of these inventions, I strongly believe they do more harm to our society and give rise to more disadvantages than good.