In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true to say that people in developed countries expect to live longer than ever before. While this trend will be endowed with some problems for both society and individuals, some approaches can be adopted by governments to mitigate the effects of these issues. A multitude of obstacles can be cited for countries with ageing populations, one of which, regarding individuals, is the money that will be needed. To be more precise, the unalterable, unpalatable fact is that due primarily to age-related problems, old people need to be looked after, and thus, their children should spend money to employ someone for this aim. Another issue that it can bring, considering society, is that this trend can have deleterious effects on productivity. In other words, being old, the elderly cannot be as eager as young people, nor can they be creative enough. Hence, with old people creating most of the workforce, productivity would definitely decline. The above burdens notwithstanding, governments have some measures to mitigate these effects. Perhaps one possible solution is to attract immigrants. In doing this, not only do countries have a younger workforce, but they also receive taxes from immigrants that can be used to help senior citizens employ someone without any need for their children's money. Not only that but states also can increase the age of retirement. With the elderly expecting longer lives and being healthy enough, it would not be wrong to ask them to work longer, for example, for five years more. In this way, they would be more useful for society as well as experiencing more self-esteem. In conclusion, although the ageing population might bring both individuals and society some burdens, states can offer precious opportunities to untangle this conundrum.