“Your first impressions when you meet someone are always right” Do you agree with this statement?

Having a good initial perception is considered to be crucial, in business and personal settings. Some may argue that an individual can be accurately judged by an imprint they have when they met them for the first time. In this essay, I will explore why I do not comply with such an assumption and explain why this misconception has been popularised as truth by many. Persons who think in favour of this idea have a couple of reasons to convince them. First this must have happened to them or someone they know. So they think this must be the case all the time. Another reason for such an opinion is movies. For instance, a movie I recently saw shows how a main male character fell for a female character from the first time he saw her, goes through a lot of trouble to get her, and finally they are married and happy ever after. The way mass media have romanticized first impressions must be one of the main causes for such an opinion. However, I feel against such beliefs. I think when we first meet someone, they naturally try to be presentable and likeable, no matter what their true nature is. So knowing someone usually takes more than one visit, way more than that. We can observe examples where couples who are together for years got separated. When people knowing each other for years can even betray each other, how can we say that we can make an accurate prediction about somebody from the very first meeting? That seems like a far-fetched idea. In conclusion, despite the popular belief that people know another person from a first date, maybe due to their personal experiences or some influences from movies and media, I don't think that is the case. I would argue that knowing a person and accurately judging them might take years, or still we might not be able to do so.