Many criminals re-offend after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is usual that lots of criminals re-offend after serving the first punishment. In this essay, I will explain why this happening and what approaches can be accessed to tackle this problem. To begin, there are two main reasons why the problem will happen. First, because of lacking any expertise and skills, even though wrongdoers have been punished and know what they did were wrong, they can't make a living by themselves. As a result, offending the rule again is the only thing those people can do. Secondly, besides the reason aforementioned, it is hard to deny that earning money through illegal ways is far faster than legal ones. Take drug makers for instance. It is alleged that for every kilogram of addicting compounds they produced, they gain ten thousand dollars. Given that, some crime-committers are more willing to take risks and re-offend. To solve the issue, one of the practical solutions is that the government provides some classes to equip them with useful skills to make dollars. For example, in certain jails, specific sessions will be presented to teach criminals how to start their own businesses. Therefore, after they finish their sentences, offenders will know how to run a shop store and not be reluctant to kick on new careers. Additionally, it is also important to prolong prison time for lowering the criminal rate. According to the relevant study from a police university, one thing noticeable is that harsh punishment does decrease the ratio of offending in a city to some degree compared to those cities with mild punishment. Hence, adopting strict laws is necessary. To sum up, although illegal activities are inevitable in a country, the authority can come up with reasonable solutions just as mentioned before to drop the percentage of crime. Through re-educating and enforcing strict laws, society will become more peaceful and harmonious.