Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweight the disavantages?

It is hard to overstate the importance of schooling: It decides what kind of person we become, what kind of career we will have, and ultimately what kind of life we will lead. Therefore, what should and should not be taught at school is necessarily a perennial debate. Some assert that schools should focus on disciplines, while others state that courses like sports and music should also be included in the curriculum. Both viewpoints are justifiable but I personally lean toward the latter. On the one hand, academic subjects are indeed very important. It could be said that the foremost objective of people who attend school is to have a financially viable career they finish. To this end, the bulk of the curriculum should be dedicated to core subjects like maths, science, and language, whose performance is placed heavy emphasis by higher education institutions and employers alike. On the other hand, subjects like sports and music cannot be discounted altogether. While they may not be directly helpful in securing employment, they indirectly make a candidate more employable. Today firms are increasingly looking beyond the technical expertise and qualifications of applicants and attach greater importance to attributes like adaptability, creativity, and collaborative skills. These qualities are arguably better cultivated in experiences like playing music or completing team sports than in academic lessons. Another compelling reason why non-academic subjects should be taught at school is that it allows young talents in athletic and artistic fields to be discovered. Without the opportunity to participate in these activities at the elementary or secondary level, musically inclined individuals or those who are endowed with an aptitude for sports will be denied the chance to achieve their full potential. In conclusion, academic subjects should no doubt be given precedence in school, but it is also important that students be taught other subjects like music or sports.