Many children these days do not do school homework. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

In some countries, the number of students who do not do their homework regularly has increased. This is mainly because of tiredness and lack of discipline. There are a number of solutions that can be implemented to deal with the issue of not doing homework. Firstly, the main reason why students do not do homework is that they feel tired. In other words, students these days have other activities to do after school, and because of this, they do not have time to do their homework at home. For example, in China, most students have to do extracurricular activities, such as sports, after they finish their lessons, and when they reach home, they will be exhausted. As a result, they are not interested in doing their work. Secondly, some students lack discipline. This is because they do not take homework seriously and realize how it can benefit them. There are two effective solutions to the problem of not doing homework. One way to tackle this is to ensure that parents and schools reduce students ’ extra activities after school. By doing this, students will be able to have enough rest after school, and they can spend more time in the evening doing their homework. Another method of dealing with this is to punish students who do not do their tasks. The teacher can minus students ’ marks and inform their parents about their behaviour. For instance, in Japan, if students do not do their homework, they cannot go to their classes until they complete their tasks. Therefore, this will make them scared and start doing their homework regularly. To sum up, reducing extracurricular activities and punishing students are the two effective ways to overcome this conundrum. If parents and schools applied these solutions, the rate of students who do not do their homework would drop.