Children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of watching television?

Nowadays, an increasing number of children are addicted to TV than in the past, while this brings enjoyment and acknowledgement of the world to them, however, it also leads to a sedentary lifestyle, consequently resulting in some health issues. This essay will examine both advantages and disadvantages of this issue. To begin with, letting children watch TV may widen their horizons and entertain them, as well as release their parents from obligatory things like parenting and playing with them. That is to say, TV programs can fill the needs of some knowledge which has not been taught in their schools, such as documentary films about nature and science. Moreover, if parents are back home and tired of being with their children, they might throw their children to watch television. Like this, releasing parents from the hard workload of the day. Take my nephew as an example, he already has learned the general geographical features of the world, despite being a nine years old child he can talk about the historical sites and customs of most of the Asian countries. On the other hand, sitting in front of the TV is out of an average hour not only cause some health problem but also isolate them from society. In other words, if children become addicted to television it can lower their eyesight, and as time passes wearing eyeglasses become necessary which may cause some confidence issues in their self-esteem of appearances. Furthermore, if this becomes a habit of their life it can also lead to self-isolation from reality. Some academic research shows that half of the children around the world suffer from health issues caused by spending extra time watching TV. To conclude, although watching TV can generate some interest and knowledge in children, it can also bring some irreparable consequences. Hence, I believe the drawbacks of losing health to an extent for children on this issue outweigh the benefit of gaining knowledge from TV.