Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Most countries around the world have specific sanctions for each type of crime. However, other people believe that while penalizing victims, the context, circumstances, and motivation should also be considered. There are several points of view, but I am of the opinion that there should be a predetermined sentence for each crime. To begin with, equality is the most important factor that any democracy’s court adheres to. All democracies adhere to their constitutions, which are the same for all citizens. Handling the same crime in different ways will lead to a lack of fairness and respect for state agencies. It even creates anxiety and inequality among people. Furthermore, factors like motivation and environment can be changed to mislead the judge. It will be difficult for state agencies to keep track of each type of case and if the regulations are treated the same then criminals will be able to exploit loopholes in the law to deceive the courts with false pretenses, untruth. On the other hand, it is feasible that the same punishment for similar crime will be unfair at times. By way of explanation, some offenders who commit major crimes but due to circumstances are given light punishments. For example, a planned murder is punished differently than an accident. Instead of making people feel unsafe, these laws will allow them more freedom. In conclusion, some people state that they need to be flexible in handling crimes. Nevertheless, it is my opinion that there should be fixed punishment for each type of offender, as this is the best way to keep the system running.