Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether children should be allowed to make decisions about their daily lives or not. The ones who disagree with that, argue that it might lead to a society consisting of selfish individuals. I have a balanced idea of that. I believe that it is crucial for children to be able to make their own decisions; however, parents should set some boundaries about their freedom. On the one hand, it is vital to teach children how to make a choice. That is because being able to decide about daily matters will help a child develop a confident, independent personality, which will be considerably helpful to society in the future. In addition, a lack of experience in decision-making will contribute to developing an insecure personality. For example, if all of a four-year-old boy's decisions are made for him, he will think of himself as a helpless person in the future. Overall, I believe that we need to let our children practice making their own decision, in order to have a powerful and independent society. On the other hand, it is also notable that a child should not have the complete freedom to choose, and there are several reasons for that. Firstly, some might say it may lead to an overestimation of their abilities for children. They could think that they are wise enough, even if they are not grown-ups yet. As a result, they will become selfish or conceited. Secondly, if they aren't supervised by parents, children are likely to get themselves into trouble, or do dangerous things. For instance, a child is not mature enough to choose safe activities to do in their free time. Overall, the safety of children should be considered when giving them an opportunity to decide, as well as its impact on their characteristics. In conclusion, I restate that although I agree that children should be permitted to make choices on their daily matters, I think parents should be extremely careful about its impacts on their personality traits, and should take care of all the safety matters.