Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some people believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Other, however, technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views

It is clear that the advances in modern inventions have certainly led to a number of environmental issues. While some are of the opinion that individuals ought to have moderate lives to tackle environmental challenges, others claim that technology is the answer to these predicaments. In my opinion, I consider that technology can be a blessing for everyone including the environment. On the one hand, according to some, technology is the reason why the world is suffering from environmental dilemmas. One obvious reason is that with the development of technology, the quality of air in some areas has dropped significantly. In other words, they emit greenhouse gasses which can bring about the greenhouse effect. In this case, air will be polluted and eventually, it will lead to global warming. In some developed countries, such as America, for example, the number of people who put on masks when they are out has increased because of carbon emissions from cars. On the other hand, some people claim that with the development of technology, the world will be a safer place for everyone including animals and plants, and I agree. This is because technology has revolutionized the way things are operated. That is to say, most companies these days use environmentally friendly machines to run the companies well. For instance, in some countries, renewable energy such as solar systems is used to operate most machinery. This not only helps to conserve energy but at the same time, also helps in producing a cleaner environment because fossil fuels namely diesel is not used. Moreover, with technology, we can measure the quality of the air and water in specific areas, and effective measures can be taken if problems are detected. To sum up, although people may vary in their opinions, I think the development of technology has greatly helped the world to conserve energy which eventually reduces the pollution rate. If more technology were invented based on the green concept, the world would not face environmental issues.