Many people believe that country should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. What extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is often assumed by many individuals that every nation should produce enough amount of food to lessen the trend of buying it from outside sources. Although I agree with this ideology, I think that agricultural production for all types of crops should not be encouraged at one place. I will further elaborate the abovementioned partial view about the statement in the following paragraphs. To commence with the idea that backup the phenomenon of buying less food from abroad, it would save province's money. When any territory exports it's produce to other nation, it levies some additional costs on the exported goods such as transportation, labor and taxation charges. To mitigate this issue, more harvesting is the better option for populace of any country, which could further generate more revenue for their own people with few other benefits. For instance, India is the biggest cotton producer in the world, which allows its residents to make its purchase at a meagre cost and also sell it to other regions at high cost. Henceforth, it is vivid that aforementioned point offers monetary benefits to both country and its occupants. On the other hand, it is good to import an agricultural produce at some point. This is because, no country can yield all types of food grains, because of its geographical location and weather conditions. To exemplify, Canada is a place that experience severe cold weather conditions, where all kinds of crops cannot be harvested and government have to buy it from other parts of the world to fulfil the needs of their populace. Hence, regions with harsh climatic conditions heavily depend on imports, which is an appropriate option for them to support the livelihood of their people. In brief, it can be considered that both trends have their own significance that depends completely on the need and choice of the particular region, which one to follow, based on various factors to support the nation.