As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, thanks to globalisation and the spread of communication systems, people prefer using the Internet instead reading a newspaper. I share this view, and I will explain this new trend in the essay. There are several reasons to agree with the idea. First of all, today people are always in a hurry, and do not have time to read a whole newspaper. Consequently, they opt for other kinds of mass media, especially the Internet since is more convenient and cheaper (sometimes is free). For instance, if you use public transports, you can read quickly the information on your smartphone during your commute to work. In other words, you can save money and time. Secondly, if you are looking for a specific news, the Internet is faster, and it can allow you to find more articles about the topic than newspapers. Furthermore, this impressive system permit to discover a lot of disparate information, while other sources give you fewer opportunities. For instance, three months ago I had to write a text about an international Swiss company which provide items for the car's industry, and, due to the crisis of this sector, is going bankrupt. For this reason, a lot of employees will lose probably their job, and citizens as well as the council are worried about it. To write this article, the information in the local newspapers was not enough, so I had to use the Internet. In conclusion, I believe that nowadays, in our society, people do not need newspapers, although are an essential source of news, and this sector provides jobs at many workers.