Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, there are many controversies about the long-term job seekers in recipients of government benefits. Some favour it while, others do not. This essay will explain the ups and downs of the above-stated proposal. The job seekers who are currently looking for better job opportunities shall do some kind of voluntary work that helps them in making contacts as well as gives them a sense of true happiness. When a potential job -seeker is socially active, he gains a lot of experience and learns skills that are required on the floor. For example, a friend of mine served voluntary service at the City Old Age home, where she learnt the value of blood relationships. In addition to that, she also made friends who later referred herto a job role in her organization. Hence this way, my friend made her way to a job role. However, there are people who do not find it interesting or worthful to spend time at social centres and find it against their will, if forced. The major drawback of being unemployed, is spending hours for voluntary service makes them feel exhausted both mentally and physically as they tend to feel nothing has been achieved in monetary benefits. For Instance, a recent study in Nashville, stated that the majority of youngsters are lethargic and unwilling to do any sort of voluntary service. To conclude, the advantages are stronger than the disadvantages, Voluntary services do indeed provide a sense of satisfaction also can help in getting longer-term job opportunities.