Some people think that government spending on the restoration of old buildings in cities should be stopped. Instead they should spend the money for housing and road development. To what extent do you agree?

Some people argue that the authorities should stop rebuilding ancient buildings and instead focus on constructing new housing and buildings. From my perspective, I think it is better to restore old buildings rather than demolish or abandon them. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion. On one hand, ancient buildings are important cultural assets. Therefore, I believe it is better to save and restore them. For example, in Britain, many old buildings and castles are open to the public. This not only creates job opportunities but also tourism attraction sides. Bringing in a significant amount of money. Additionally, abandoned sites often attract negative behaviour. For instance, abandoned cities attract drug abusers, and criminals, and deteriorate the overall appearance of the city. So it is easier for government to restore old buildings which ichor it save time and money. On the other hand, the cost of constructing new houses and buildings is high for the government. It would be more beneficial for the government to focus on other projects such as hospitals and schools. If the government tries to build new houses, they may have to remove natural green areas where many wild animals and plants live. This would result in more deforestation and contribute to the consequences of climate change. Therefore, governments should preserve wildlife. Moreover, demolish ancient building mean delete the history of particular citiy. In conclusion, the government must make the right decisions to protect the environment and ensure a good quality of life for its citizens.