Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It’s considered that easiest method to reduce the amount of consumed sugar that contains in food and beverages is increasing of the level of prices for such products. I completely disagree with this opinion and suppose that teaching people, especially the young generation, about healthy diet is the more effective way. First of all, I believe that the rise of prices causes more revenue for the companies, which produce sugar-containing goods, to a greater extent, and, to a much lesser, lead to stop or decrease consumption of sugary food and drink. For example, the similar situation is occurring in area of tobacco sales in Uzbekistan. Through the decades the cost of cigarettes has been rising, and it increased twice only in last two years. Meanwhile, the percent of smokers grew from 9 to 16 at the same period according to the data of World Health Organization. That is why it is more important to choose the complex way that makes clear understanding for consumer about harmful effect for their health than to look only at the increasing of costs. Secondly, high prices can take a serious hit on the wallet of individuals with low level of income, that, in its turn, may lead not to encourage population to refuse from sweets, but to look for cheaper and poor-quality goods. As result, such type of substitutes can damage individual’s health much more. To conclude, I strongly believe that wide-spread knowledge among population about how our bodies work and which nutrition is useful for them is more beneficial than the growing of prices because it makes people motivated, despite the fact that this path is longer, but ultimately it is more powerful in solving the problem to reduce sugar consuming.