The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken gradually. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

In this contemporary era, English has been widely accepted as the main language to communicate with dwellers of different places. A significant proportion of the masses are having a viewpoint that English will overtake all the other languages and will result in the death of many languages spoken among small communities. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of having a singular language throughout the globe extensively in subsequent paragraphs. To commence, the predominant pros of having singular language area elimination of communication barriers and closeness among societies. To elaborate, communicating in 1 language will eradicate the unrequired barriers that were hindering the interaction process, and make it feasible for people to explore the world in terms of education and many more. Additionally, it will help the societies to come close to each other because having distinct languages creates unseen walls among the societies, which will be broken after having one language is acceptable all over the globe. For example, as per a survey, it has been observed that masses who communicate in the same language are able to bond better than those who are not able to understand the language properly. Thus, the aforementioned benefits substantiate why singular language should be prevalent. Moving ahead, there are some demerits which are associated with the prevalence of singular language, and those are the 'death of rarely spoken language ' and 'separation from roots'. To explicate, if one language will prevail, then there will numerous be numerous languages that will eventually die because of lesser communication in them. Moreover, it will also widen the gap between the individual and his roots, consequently, the individual will lose his authenticity and originality. For instance, languages such as 'Punjabi', and 'Bengali' will eventually die out because of their lesser usage usage, as these languages are limited to very small communities. Hence, it is evident that the demerits of opting for a singular language cannot be overlooked. To conclude, although the benefits of opting for one language are improvement in conversation and lessening of the differences among communities, however, the drawbacks such as the death of less spoken language and getting farther from roots cannot be overlooked either. In my opinion, language presents authenticity, and these are the jewels of the past that should be lost in the process of modernization.