Some people say that all popular TV programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this contemporary era, an increasing number of individuals argue about the fact that TV shows do not put a higher emphasis on making their spectators more conscious of community problems. While I personally agree to raise viewer's awareness on this topic, there are some more important points to consider, which I'm going to examine in the forthcoming paragraphs.   Doubtless, being educated about significant social issues can save one's life. To put it in other words, TV programs as well as weather forecasts often envisage upcoming natural disasters with precise accuracy, making people on the other side of the box alert to be able to find a safe shelter. Thus saving millions of lives around the world. Furthermore, not only do they aid in life's salvation, but they also encourage the public to use water more wisely. For instance, in Uzbekistan, there was a huge waste of clean water on a daily basis before our government launched programs through TV on water preservation. However, on the other side, these types of shows set limitations for people who tend to watch television broadcasts mainly to release stress. This makes people more aggressive and deprives them of their favourite free-time activities. Moreover, if they were only programs focused on educating tenors, families would lose a lot of available time to be together, and as a result, it could cause a crack in their relationship.   In conclusion, ideologically, it seems unfair to restrict people from their beloved shows, the reality of the situation is more complex. Perhaps we should all simply strive to be as aware as possible of societal imbroglios.