public transport should be free to the poorer. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

An ongoing debate exists on whether people experiencing poverty should have free access to all public transportation. Some advocate providing free transport tickets to poorer people, while others oppose the concept. In my opinion, accessing public transport without charge for those who cannot afford to purchase the tickets will reduce impoverishment, traffic congestion and pollution. On the one hand, free public transport for poorer people can enhance the living standards of low-income individuals. These people struggle with the payment costs of daily essentials, and providing them with free tickets can give them access to essential services, such as education and workplaces. As a result, this could improve the quality of their life standards and reduce poverty, meaning that they can allocate their income to other essentials, like food and energy costs. For instance, people who are unemployed or have low pay in the UK often receive free bus tickets, which would enable them to participate in necessary activities, including going to schools or other work-related training. On the other hand, providing free public transport to less well-off people can reduce the number of personal cars on the roads. This is because some households from disadvantaged backgrounds have financial constraints and use old vehicles that cause damage to the environment. By giving them free tickets, they are more likely to use public transport and consequently traffic congestion and pollution tend to diminish as more people abandon using these heavily polluted cars. In conclusion, providing free public transport tickets to households and other individuals who are made redundant or those who are on minimum wages and cannot buy tickets for their travels is essential. This will improve their living standards as they can spend money on other necessities. It will also increase the air quality of cities as fewer cars are used on streets.