Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museum outweigh the disadvantages?

Many museums require an admission fee, others do not. I believe the advantages of this far outweigh the disadvantages because, without it, museums would not be able to protect their collection well. On the one hand, entrance fees may discourage the number of visitors. For instance, in China, all museums are free for Chinese citizens, so low-income families who can not afford places such as amusement parks and movie theaters, often take their children to museums to spend their weekends. They may stop visiting if they have to pay to enter. However, according to my observation, most people go there not to appreciate exhibits but to enjoy the free air-conditioning. They make noise and overcrowd the museum. Therefore, I think decreasing the number of visitors would not be a bad thing. On the other hand, entrance fees allow museums to upkeep their collections. Due to changes in climate, natural disasters are happening more and more frequently. By charging admission fees, museums can afford high-tech methods to minimize the impact of these disasters. For example, with revenue from admission fees, the New York City's Whitney Museum of American Art was able to build an up-to-date flooding wall, which protects its works from potential flooding of rivers nearby. I think this is a great advantage because some of their collections are masterpieces from the past. And keep it safe is important for our cultural heritage. In conclusion, a paid model may deter the number of visitors, I think this disadvantage far outweighs by the advantage that the money raised helps the museum to keep its collections well.