Some people say that students who achieve the highest scores in their exams should be rewarded. Others say that those who show progress should be rewarded instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The schools have been following the traditional methodology of rewarding high-performing students over the years. However, some people now argue that pupils who made exceptional advancements should be acknowledged rather than rewarding the top scorer. In this essay, I will delve into both views and present my personal opinion. On one hand, proponents who advocate the conventional method argue that rewarding top achievers inspires the upcoming batches to score high. Witnessing the recognition received by seniors will instill a competitive spirit in children that will enhance their performance in their academic assessments, thereby, leading to great results. Moreover, rewards are always a means to recognize one’s effort. Students who receive the accolades will carry this as motivation throughout their lives, fostering successful career growth for them. On the other hand, opponents assert the need to recognize the significant progress made by some children. Some of them may have made exceptional progress in their final results, yet, may not have scored the highest score. Advocates believe that deterring them from the recognitions might result in demotivation of these students further leading to mental breakdowns. While I agree with the point that the progress made by students should not be overlooked, I also believe rewarding each student based on their progress will not be a practical approach. Schools usually have a fixed budget for the yearly rewards and recognition programs. That means, giving awards to each student based on their progress is not feasible. Moreover, this approach will not be fair to the students who have consistently performed well. As we know there is a significant effort required to perform high throughout the year. Thus, acknowledging their effort is highly important both for their motivation and for inspiring future students. In Conclusion, rewarding wards for their performance plays a significant role in fostering their career growth and driving future students. However, recognizing them based on the progress achieved will have practical difficulties and budget constraints, therefore, schools should continue the traditional method of acknowledging the outstanding ones.