In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and asking taking responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The child labor was always a problem that humanity wanted to get rid of. However, up to this day, governments of some countries still tolerate this tendency. Some people might argue that this is a completely inhumane practice, while others consider that children might bring a lot of help and gain experience. Personally, I support the former statement. The exploitation of child labor during the Victorian era in England is a bright example of this phenomenon in action. Many families had to employ their only child to work for minimal wage of the factory, where workers’ health was threatened due to the constant exposure to soot and coal dust. However, the “little hands” contributed a lot to the British economy in the nineteenth century. In fact, England was often referred as the “factory of the world” back in the day. It is safe to say that this little was earned with cruel ways of child labor. Turning to the modern times, most developing countries still can't prohibit the exploitment of the minors, because of their share in the economy. Moreover, poor families that struggle to provide for their children, have no other choice but to send their kids to work. Where they can have at least a minimum wage helping out their parents. On the other hand, the UN strictly states that every child has a legally substantiated right to have a happy childhood and adolescence. Therefore, every developed country prohibits child labor giving preferance to the education of the youth and contributing to their future. Instead of forcing families to give up their kids to work with minimum wage, the authorities should provide the parents with higher salary to help out less fortunate families. Based on my experience, the students are often neglected at work places and are paid much less. Therefore, I believe that getting education is better for the youth than working since young age. In conclusion, in my opinion children of any age and citizenship shouldn't get employed, but rather contribute their energy and time to the studies.