The use of social media is replacing face to face interaction among many people in society. Do you think its advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this digital age, social media has deeply infiltrated everyone's life in lieu of face-to-face conversation. The statement does produce certain positive effects, but in my opinion, they would be overshadowed by undesirable impacts. It is conceivable why some subscribe to the view that the advent of social media platforms has contributed an enormous amount of benefits to people's life. Not only do individuals be able to globally connect with their old friends and far-away relatives, but they also meet new online friends around the world with whom they share common interests, helping mutually in studying or working sessions. To illustrate, it was during the Covid-19 pandemic that the Vietnamese authorities had to formulate a new domestic policy which require all of the residents to stay in quarantine at home. So, there was barely any public places open at that time, schools and workplace are no exception, which give rise to greater use of social media apps for people to hold virtual meetings, give lectures to students and keep in touch with beloved ones, all via online network. Therefore, considering social media as a more powerful communication tool than direct talking does seem justifiable. Nevertheless, in spite of the above arguments, I'm inclined to think that the cons outweigh the pros. First, the key rationale is those who easily fall prey to online communication abuse. As the proliferation of cyberbullying has detrimental effects on people's mental health, this would even lead to feeling depressed or committing suicide by the victims without the intervention. Second, due to the excessive use of social networking sites, children and adults may addict to them, which contributes to a decline in productivity and a vast of health issues. Still, they would be more likely to neglect how pivotal it is to form novel relationships in reality. To conclude, I firmly believe that the downsides of social media substituting face-to-face conversation are more significant than the benefits users could reap from those sites.