Social media such as Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram has replaced face to face communication in our everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages.

The modes of communication have altered the ways of interaction with friends and families as social websites allow people to video call and talk frequently. In this, essay I would like to shed light on both pros and cons in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, innovations in technology have brought ample benefits to the life of users in plenty of ways. To commence with, it has made it possible to communicate with oversea relatives or family members on a daily basis, consequently, it could eradicate the problem of homesickness among migrators. For instance, during the pandemic, while the whole world was forced to stay inside their houses, social media was merely a source to talk with loved ones. Besides, introverted people, who do not have enough confidence to address strangers, could make new companions through online chatting. On the other hand, there are a few drawbacks faced by the masses as it does not involve direct communication. Firstly, the masses are not aware of the reality of their friends as they have never talked with each other in their real lives, subsequently, there are glitches in love and companionship. Secondly, online hacking and blackmailing have become a threat to the privacy of users, in fact, youngsters are found victims of this. For example, a plethora of youngsters commits suicide each year, due to cyberbullying or leak of personal information. In conclusion, these days, new sources of communication have improved the bondings with the knowns living miles apart, whereas, because of long screening hours youngsters merely interact with their loved ones. In my opinion, it has more advantages than disadvantages as these problems could be overcome by improving security.