Some people think it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinion as them. Other people believe it is good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Finding the right friend is quite tricky, some people suggest that it is better to befriend someone who shares the same opinion and others disagree, favouring a more critical individual. There are strong arguments on both sides of these two thoughts, which we will discuss here. On one hand, having friends who agree with your opinion is very rewarding because not only is your thought being validated but both of you share the same perspective. When having an opinion, we want people's approval, so having those who agree with us is incredibly satisfying. For example, you have just seen The Shining, and you feel that it was the best horror film ever, and your friend thinks so too, you both praise the film together in joy. That is the satisfaction of knowing that your friend shares the same connection as you. In contrast, while having friends who disagree with you can be challenging at times, their assessment is more educational because they might have a different perspective on the matter, and they perceive things from a different angle. These are the type of people who could change your initial thought, and make you reconsider judgements. Circling back to the same example, one of your pals might not enjoy The Shining, in fact, they argued that it was the worst horror flick they have ever seen. You will be conflicted, but it presents an interesting point of critiquing the movie from a different view. In conclusion, I would personally find the company of those who counter my judgment more fascinating, because there is a wider range of variations to consider; when you have multiple opinions on one matter, there is always something new to learn that we have yet to consider. This is why I disagree with the statement of favouring friends who only agree with you.