Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Living in a nation where an individual has to speak the native language as a foreigner can create not only significant social setbacks but also practical issues as well. I strongly agree with this, as it can lead to the deterioration of mental health, as well as miscommunication among the native speakers which can summon problems. Migrating to a country with an unfamiliar language can have repercussions attached to it. It could hinder the network one is seeking to make and without proper communication it would only repel people from socializing. Additionally, this will lead to isolation followed by depression and it can have detrimental effects on an individual, who do not have any people to talk to them. For instance, according to researchers, students who come to study from various different countries and are unable to socialize because of the language barrier ends up having a huge amount of mental stress which leads to suicidal thoughts. Secondly, Miscommunication is common between the native speaker and the foreigner. While working in a shop or purchasing an item in a supermarket can become a bit of a struggle and a nightmare as it can take a whole day to sort things out if a person does not know how to read or talk to people of different languages. For example, Working in a corporate office and an individual is not able to contribute to the firm during the meetings can even lead to firing that person and it will surely act as an obstacle for their career. Therefore, troubling to understand a foreign language will have genuine hindrances throughout their daily life. To conclude, Settling in a country as a foreigner and being unaware to comprehend the language of native speakers can lead to numerous amount of problems. I believe mental health can take a toll on an individual or it can lead to miscommunication which can invite difficulties.