In many countries, children are given a lot of homework. Is it a positive or a negative trend?

Today, the students are facing a variety of challenges, homework and pressures at an unprecedented level, by their teachers. I believe that it is both detrimental and beneficial in equal measure. There are valid reasons why it might be argued that giving a lot of homework is a negative trend. In fact, one of the main objectives of schools is to help students prepare for exams, hence children spent a large part of the day for preparing exams. As a result of this, many children have problems with health issues, and also a mindset. If children cannot take a rest or do not provide with well- being. That notwithstanding, giving a lot of homework comes with a number of positives. Firstly, a school class lasts for about 40-45 minutes in many countries and this time is not enough to explain the topic and work with students. That's why, homework -giving can be seen as an extra lesson. Secondly, doing homework teaches important skills such as being responsible, leadership and independent. These traits are useful in their whole life. For example, in the university or workplace when they are facing problems and take decisions by themselves. To sum up, giving more home tasks to children has pros and cons, while, on the one hand, because of more tasks, children can be tedious, on the other hand, it helps them to make a decision for themselves in the future. That's why, I believe that it is as much a change for the better as it is for the worse.