Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic products ranging from plastic bottles to bags and packaging forms have been produced excessively in recent decades. There have been ever-rising questions about the likelihood of plastic harm that could affect our surroundings. The origin of this situation appears to derive from two main problems, while several remedies could be offered by the government and citizens, which will be mentioned here. Perhaps, the main damage is exclusive to environmental contamination. Since plastic is irresolvable, it remains for a long time in nature, hence plastic disposal in any form of bottle or package could not be buried in the soil. Therefore, due to the chemical structure, if plastic waste got burnt, it would release harmful emissions alongside seeping into groundwater, leading to all sorts of environmental contaminations such as air pollution, tainted water, and polluted soil. The second factor might be for the animals’ health and habitat, meaning that according to recent research, toxic compounds in plastic bottles or bags indirectly could cause traumatic events such as global warming or tragic incidents, like choking plastic waste in the habitat by animals. Turning to possible remedies, first of all, the government could control plastic usage by replacing it with eco-friendly products. Moreover, the authority could benefit from several platforms to foster purchasing of non- plastic utensils by advertising them on platforms such as media, billboards, and the Internet. The second solution is for dwellers to sustain the environment by doing helpful activities, meaning that it is possible to assist the government to save time and energy in case of recycling by certain actions such as separating plastic bottles from other waste and buying non- plastic commodities. To conclude, water and air pollution seem to be major effects of using plastic alongside severe changes in the earth’s temperature and animals’ health. It is vital that the authority manufacture and publicize eco-friendly products while people assist them to recycle plastic as well.