Whar are the advantages and disadvantages of online learning

Virtual studying is becoming apparent in the modern world. Most universities are embracing the benefits of technology by administering classes online. Hence, this essay will explain some benefits and drawbacks of learning virtually. Online learning is advantageous for students who are juggling their responsibilities at work, home, and school. Learning in a virtual space provides an opportunity for learners to access their classes anytime and anywhere around the globe, as long as they can access the internet. For example, an individual can attend his class facilitated in Australia even though he is living in China. It means that great distance and time are not barriers to learning, as they do not need to travel just to be present at school. After classes, students have ample time as well to tend to their responsibilities of taking care of their children at home. As a matter of fact, they can also take care of their children while they are joining an online class. For instance, mothers who are into further studies can turn off their cameras and breastfeed their children whilst listening to their professor's lecture. Conversely, virtual studying has its own drawbacks as learners have limited space to connect with their peers and teachers resulting in low levels of social interaction and the absence of camaraderie in the learning environment. To illustrate, learners will have difficulty building rapport and teamwork with their classmates as there is no face-to-face interaction. It is a challenge for them to see what is not working in the group, which is subsequently impacting their abilities to resolve and work together to problem solve. Furthermore, there is less opportunity for students to build relationships with their teachers which may impact their progress at school. To elaborate, a learner may not be guided accordingly and given support according to his individual needs, as the teacher has less awareness about his class. In another situation, a high school student's motivation to finish his task may be easily distracted due to the availability of games on his computer without the teacher's knowledge, as teachers have no access to their students ' screens. In conclusion, online learning has great benefits for those who have busy schedules and who are living far away from the academy. On the other hand, this modern type of learning has disadvantages for others as it has less learning space for social interaction and the opportunity to build supportive relationships between learners and teachers.