Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that we are more reliant on others currently, while others argue people live independently nowadays. In my view, modern life forces us to be more independent the people were in the past. There are two main reasons why some people consider today’s society a more dependent one. The first one is that life seems to be more complex and difficult, with inflation getting quicker, our living costs are also getting higher. For example, house price has increased dramatically in recent years, so without the help of their parents, it seems impossible for young people to buy a house of their own. Moreover, people are more ambitious today, and many parents spend most of their time making money in order to offer better life quality for their families, so they sometimes end up letting grandparents or babysitters look after their children. However, I would agree with those who believe people are more independent these days. In most countries, families are becoming smaller and more dispersed, which means that people can not count on their families as much as they used to. We also have more freedom and opportunities to travel around the world, for instance, many students choose to study or work abroad these days, so without the company of their families or friends, they need to rely on themselves. Another reason contributing to this independence is advanced technology, people can work remotely or work alone from any part of the world. In conclusion, even though some people consider us dependent on each other nowadays, I would argue that due to the reason mentioned above, people are more independent than ever.