Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that access to all information on the internet nowadays is so easy that the role of traditional libraries is no longer important. While I accept that this search method has many benefits for students, I also believe that such institutions still meet their research needs and are hard to be replaced. On the one hand, students choosing to look for information from online sources could be beneficial to them as a whole. The first thing is a huge amount of knowledge stored from online sources. Moreover, this data is updated fast and frequently. They can find all kinds of knowledge they need from world history to update events in real life. For example, it is much easier to research the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic on the current economy from smart devices than from any physical institutions. The second benefit of this search way is that it is very convenient and fast. Researching can be flexibly made whenever they want, at home, at a café, in class, etc. This helps students save a lot of time and spend hours looking for books or searching for data from materials there. For instance, Google, which can be considered a popular search tool for them today, needs only less than one second to show up hundreds of results from keywords for free. It is clearly much faster than any traditional one. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that libraries are an indispensable part of each student. First and foremost, you can not make sure all the knowledge and news on the Internet are reliable. Administrators can easily post and adjust the content on the websites. Some sites such as Wiki even allow visitors to change the existing contents on the site. Furthermore, paying fees is often required for accessing valuable academic sources because of copyright matters. Meanwhile, people can access them at school athenaeums for free. When I was a student, I used to choose these destinations to find economic studies written by famous authors. This type of data is hard to find on online platforms without a user account provided by physical institutions. Additionally, it was mostly free of charge for pupils of the school. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that the Internet is of paramount importance to pupils, I would contend that it still remains an issue as analyzed above that can not replace the role of traditional athenaeums.