Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grand children, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

It is argued by critics that elder people would better live in conjunction with their posterity, whereas others state that they should live alone. This essay will further discuss both perspectives and show that being accompanied by children and grandchildren can ensure a quality life for the elder. On the one hand, it is understandable why some believe that an independent life will be beneficial for grandparents. Some old people might find it uncomfortable to bother their children. For example, my grandfather, who is now 84 years old, claims that he could manage his own life unassisted and always opts to live alone to avoid being my mom and dad’s concern. One of the imperative rights of elder people, similar to other age groups, is that they have sovereign privacy to freely enjoy different ways of living. On the other hand, I am convinced that staying together with family members is a better option for grandparents. My reason for this is that, with a high possibility of confronting health problems and deterioration of body function as a result of ageing, elder people should be the prioritized group. A social report in the USA substantiated that 72% of elder people who are regularly supported by families have a better record in their health profiles, particularly facing fewer diseases such as diabetes, stroke, and depression. Besides, living together can erect a stable rapport and comprehension of the mentality of the others between the young and old generations. In Conclusion, although grandparents have full rights to enjoy their liberated lives, I would not recommend them to do so and instead follow the perspective that appraises the company of the younger generation, which is associated with enormous advantages in well-being and health welfare.