Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Many museums charge their visitors a certain amount of money while others do not. I think that the main drawback of an admission fee is outweighed by its benefits because this accrued income can be reinvested in the operation and development of museums. The only disadvantage of charging for admission is the high likelihood of reducing the number of visitors. Due to the introduction of an entrance fee, museums may become less attractive compared to other means of entertainment such as theme parks or cinemas. As a result, museums are likely to fail to fulfil their essential mission which is acting/serving as an educational tool to raise general public awareness of history and aesthetic value. Hence, some people believe that it is the responsibility of governments to subsidize the entire cost of operating a museum. However, the benefits of charging an entrance fee are tangible. The proceeds from collecting fees can be ploughed back into renovating premises, recruiting more experts, and applying new technologies in order to attract more visitors. Operating in a competitive environment, museums have to exert a great deal of effort to dispel the prejudice that museums are tedious with boring artefact displays and lengthy written descriptions. For example, some have adopted the new virtual reality technology to re-enact historical events or deployed multi-language audio guides to enhance visitors ’ experience. However, such ambitious projects come at an exorbitantly high cost, which is hardly covered by small/limited grants provided by governments, which speaks volumes for the great advantage derived from ticket sales. In conclusion, the disadvantage of decreasing the number of potential visitors is overshadowed by the advantages relating to operational funds accumulated through selling entrance tickets. Therefore, I am convinced that museums should maintain the competitive edge and keep up with the latest developments even if it means that visitors have to pay a premium for it.