Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is a common trend lately to believe that ebooks are slowly replacing public libraries completely. Many who believe that technologies can take the place of physical books hold a view that maintaining a public reading place is throwing away useful resources for more important matters, but others argue there are flaws in that statement. In this essay, I will dig deeper and explain why I am not in total agreement with this opinion. On the one hand, those who support the idea of getting rid of libraries have pointed out the wide space libraries waste. To be more concise, reading space can take up space for more practical buildings like hospitals, orphanages, schools, and houses … Some people are not able to satisfy their basic qualities of life due to the lack of necessary institutions. An example can be seen in Binh Chanh district which have have a reputation for being poorer than other districts, they have many homeless and unhealthy people since there is not enough space for housing and medications. We can assume that libraries at most are luxuries, compared to more vital buildings. On the other end, people have listed many benefits of physical books over ebooks to prove that libraries are necessary. Reading at the library has proven to improve concentration and reading capability which is beneficial for students and white-collar workers. Furthermore, the more you read from your phone the worse your eyes will get, which is not ideal for long hours reading. For instance, seniors in high school, who have to prepare for college, have to study for hours and days and prefer to study at libraries because of the pros listed above. It is wise to say that the upside of having a public reading space is significant. To conclude, it is logical to state that more important buildings should take in place of libraries. However, I believe that the benefits of physical over digital are worth mentioning so I only agree with the statement to an extent.