Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of public transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (e.g. cost, environments. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is estimated that the population of the world will continue to grow exponentially, which can strain the public transportation system. The construction of faster transportation such as bullet trains, was thought to be one of the ways to alleviate congestion. This essay will describe an opinion on why government should and should not invest in this, and why I think that it is better to invest in it. On the one hand, the drawback of it being very expensive cannot be overlooked. Depending on the distance that it will cover, it can cost a lot of money, which will be most likely funded by taxpayers. As such, the government should really think about the geographics and population density that will be covered by the new system if it is worth the gamble. Furthermore, the price to go on it should also be considered. For instance, would it be cheaper to go on a plane instead? In addition to that, would it be profitable to cover the cost if it is on a regular basis? Therefore, can the plan for the new infrastructure project be justified? On the other hand, some could argue that speed trains can certainly help ease the crowd and traffic. Firstly, it can provide an express service for the people who work in the city but live in the regional area. Consequently, it can cut the congestion in the cities. Secondly, there will be easy access to the regional area, which is beneficial for the local community. As this can bring tourism to the locals and ultimately the economy of the country. To conclude, the plan for the new speed transport, such as bullet train has its own pros and cons. It can be expensive and not sustainable in the long run. Nonetheless, depending on the density of the people and the potential for regional tourism, this can actually reduce traffic and provide profit for the nation.