In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In multiple countries around the globe, people who live in rural areas are moving to urban cities, causing a declining trend in terms of the countryside population. Personally, I believe that it is a great and positive development for two reasons. To begin with, people moving to the city can reduce the human damage to the local natural environment. As people are moving away, there will be less air pollution caused by cars emitting greenhouse gases and less water pollution caused by toxic shower lotions and sewage. After all the people are moved away from one place, the earth will activate its self-repairing feature, making the environment healthy again. For example, I watched a video about an expert using a computation model to predict how the earth will look like if humans disappear, in the video he mentioned the earth can heal itself but it is not possible to happen if humans still exist. In addition to saving the earth, the movement of people from rural areas to urban areas helps the city to increase its international competitiveness. If there are more people moving to the city, meaning a rising number of labourers and workers. Companies can hire more labourers to work for them, to produce more products and export them. As a result, the GDP of the city will be dramatically increased. For instance, Taipei City's GDP increased drastically after the international workers settled in, which shows the potential increase in GDP if rural people come to the cities. In conclusion, I would argue that the trend of rural people moving to metropolis is an optimistic development as it can reduce human damage to the natural surrounding and raise the global competitiveness of the cities.