Many people now live in societies where consumer goods have become cheap. Do advantages outweigh disadvanatges?

With the advancement and development, many countries prefer to provide multiple financial benefits to its citizen. They strive to keep the pricing of various products within easy reach of the whole population and take several actions to implement it. There are several merits and demerits associated with this phenomenon. In my opinion, the benefits weigh higher on the scale as compared to the drawbacks. To begin with, the nation is benefited in many ways when consumer goods are available at cheaper prices. The first and foremost advantage is that they can easily afford various things while staying within their budget. The second aspect is that the state fulfils its responsibility to provide all the basic amenities to its inhabitants as a welfare state. The third important part is that it makes the nation happier and motivates them to work harder for the country. Lastly, it keeps the crime rate low as people do not need to snatch others' belongings to continue their livelihood. For instance, it is a common observation that there are more crime cases reported in third-world countries because of the inability to afford basic necessities. On the other hand, there are some issues with this setup. One important disadvantage is that it does not allow the business community to earn good margins on various things. Another problem is that sometimes individuals start smuggling this stuff with low tags to neighbouring regions where the inflation rate is high, to enjoy the markup. For example, many businessmen from Kenya sell their tea products to developed regions to gain profit, however, their own population face scarcity of it. The last important part is that the government ought to put taxes on a very low level on these objects to continue the system, thus, it stops the related authorities from collecting revenue. In conclusion, after discussing both sides, I would like to stick with my initial stance. It is the responsibility of every state to work for the well-being of its people. So, it is necessary for the authorities to provide them with the best of possibilities and to help them grow as it is going to lead the path to national development.