In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In many countries, although, the reports of heinous crimes have decreased, many people are still feeling unsafe. The involvement of the media and inappropriate justice for criminals are some of the major causes related to this issue. In order to curb this problem, the judiciary body should imply strict punishments along with the installation of security cameras. Televisions, radios and newspapers are the most common sources of news which incessantly portray news of burglaries and thefts occurring in the city. This results in the development of negative thoughts in society which could lead to mental illnesses. For instance, the media in the U.S.A favours one political party and defame the others by spreading false news and rumours regarding increased crimes which in turn affect the result of the election. Furthermore, some criminals are not punished according to their crimes and they rejoin society shortly after they have committed a crime. This not only boosts their confidence to commit further crimes but also creates trouble for the people earning their livelihood honestly. To tackle this problem, the authorities need to step up and carefully prosecute the activities of the convicts. Punishments like death sentences, community service or spending time behind bars must be imposed on the criminals if they are found guilty. Furthermore, there should be an increase in the number of security cameras in the city as the footage could be used to determine the culprit or their vehicle. For example, Canada has recently installed improved cameras in the major cities which has helped the government in tracking down speeding cars and in certain cases, a number of convicts have been caught as they are unaware of the advanced gadgets used by the officials of the city. To conclude, the media's relentless pursuit of toxic news and inefficiency of law and order are the major concerns regarding public safety, however, the provision of strict punishment and spending on the necessary equipment to catch the lawbreakers are the possible solutions as discussed above.