Some scientific inventios and discoveries are worthless and only waste time and money resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that certain things which are invented and discovered are not useless, and time and expenses are wasted. I disagree with this statement because economic growth and the convenience of daily life are the benefits of scientific inventions. Firstly, the economy has been developed thanks to the invention of machines. Since the Industrial Revolution, the more productivity of manufacturing has been developed, the higher level of economy countries can have. For instance, in the case of the US, they have introduced and rearranged many technologies, and now that the US becomes the biggest country which has a strong effect on the world economy. Thus, without sophisticated science productions, the world economy does not grow at this level. Secondly, persons’ daily lives are convenient. Due to the IT revolution, they can access the Internet and contact others. It is not necessary for them to go out for working, shopping and meeting their friends since computers enable them to do at home. They can save time such as waiting and moving time. However, it is true that this advantage sometimes causes bad results, such as obesity, depression, and loneliness. In fact, some people are bothered by such symptoms. I believe in contrast, that the benefits of scientific productions must outweigh the drawbacks. In conclusion, some inventions and discoveries which scientists made are regarded as helpless productions. However, this line of reasoning may not be sound since people become richer than in the past and their lives also change to the better.